100 Days of Impact: Experiencing

7 Oct
Camp  Grants and Scholarships from The Jewish Federation of Sarasota-Manatee

Camp memories last forever!

The Jewish Federation of Sarasota-Manatee awarded $56,750 in camp grants and scholarships in 2014, helping to send seventy-nine children to Jewish overnight camps this summer.

 

Justin at Camp Ramah Darom

Justin at Camp Ramah Darom

If it were not for the assistance of the Jewish Federation scholarship grant, I would not have been able to attend camp this year.  A fantastic adventure for the past 8 years, this is my last year at Camp Ramah Darom as a camper. As a Senior Camper I will have the privilege of going on a 10-day road trip up the east coast.

I have truly grown up at camp and have had the best Jewish experience. The relationships I have made at Ramah Darom have impacted my life so much that I now aspire to become a camp counselor.  I hope to give back and share my experiences with others and impact their lives as people have done for me.

These Jewish Federation Camp grants can help other children enjoy the many summers that I have and begin new journeys as well as develop a love for Jewish camping. If it were not for the Federation’s assistance, I would not have had the greatest summer ever.  I am still at camp until August 4th, and Camp Ramah is my home away from home.  With help from the Federation it can become your summer home too.

Written by Justin B., a sixteen year old 11th grader at Sarasota High School

Leave a Reply

