Surviving 400 Teenagers

17 Oct

Over this past weekend, I attended and staffed my first NFTY-STR Kallah in Boca Raton, FL. This was a convention for students in high school that are associated with the Reform movement’s youth division, NFTY (North American Federation of Temple Youth). Thirteen students from Temple Sinai’s SAFETY (Sarasota Area Federation of Extreme Temple Youth) chapter attended the weekend full of activities and each of them blew me away with their leadership. Of course, I can go on and on about how incredible of an experience this was, but it’s best that I leave that up to the kids. Please enjoy the blurb below from Jamie Metzger, Communications Vice President for SAFETY.

“This past fall Kallah was a new experience for me. Despite it being my 8th Kallah, I had never led a program before. Leading a program at Kallah was a fantastic learning experience. I not only learned how to properly lead a group, but I also kept a discussion going with 20 teenagers around the state of Florida… which was a very big deal because this was before lunch so they were getting a bit antsy. I loved leading this program and felt honored to do so. I also LOVED being able to see all the amazing friends I’ve made in the past 2 years. Not only did I strengthen my relationships with people from all around Florida, but also with those who are from right here in Sarasota! This Kallah was amazing and I’ll never forget it!”

Kallah group

This experience was made possible from a new collaborative partnership with area youth groups through Federation’s Shapiro teen Engagement Program (STEP). If you are interested in learning more about these opportunities as well as others, please contact a member of the Federation’s engagement team at 941.371.4546.

Len Steinberg is the Assistant Program Director at The Jewish Federation of Sarasota-Manatee and the Youth Group Director at Temple Sinai. 

Leave a Reply

